A few months ago I noticed a small blurb hidden in one of my issues of Clean Eating magazine that had a comprehensive list of common sources of gluten found in packaged foods. Honestly, I was a bit shocked that such an important nugget of information was tucked away in a corner of the magazine. I thought that the subject deserved an article of its own.
So, in case you missed it the following is a list of common sources of hidden gluten with a few of my own additions and commentary:
- Grains (wheat, freekah, durum, semolina, farina, bulgur, rye, barley, spelt, triticale, graham flour, Kamut, matzah, wheat berries, etc.)
- Oats and Corn (if not labeled gluten-free)
- Malt, Malt barley (note: rice krispies and other rice treats commonly contain this additive rendering a typically safe food off limits)
- Texture vegetable protein (TVP), Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
- Monosodium glutamate (MSG) (Yeast extract, Torula yeast, Yeast food, Yeast nutrient, Autolyzed yeast)
- Natural flavor, Artificial flavor
- Vegetable gum
- Smoke flavor
- Germ, Groats
- Brewer’s yeast, Nutritional Yeast (if not labeled gluten-free)
- Carob (if not labeled gluten-free)
- Emulsifiers, Fillers
- Modified food starch
Yikes! That’s a long list of items to avoid. Usually I would rather be safe than sorry and always buy items that are labeled gluten-free. Although, if you are following a plant-based, clean lifestyle focused on minimally processed foods you will have few labels to scour and ingredients lists to read.
Did I miss an additive that contains gluten? Please comment below with any additions and I will update this post with the additions.